Advent Adventures 2012: The Calendar

So how was my progress with the calendar?

After having my fill of viewing Advent calendars, I looked at the clock and decided that simple will be the way to go. Afterall, I needed to get to sleep before I behave like a zombified mummy the next day, and that wouldn’t be the best start to December.

I thus present to you, my Advent calendar.

photo

I simply took 12 envelopes, cut them into half. Find some fanciful Christmassy fonts and typed out 1-24. Added the square clues from Truth in the Tinsel and I just happened to have a snowman container which was just apt.

Inside each envelope, I put it in the craft that we were supposed to do for that day. On some special days (wholly according to my whims and fancies), I added some special activities which I am hoping will signify the start of our own special Christmas traditions. I took references from Oh Happy Day, Skip to my LouCode Name Mama and Lasso the Moon. Lasso the Moon had printable activity cards which really helped.

I really want D to understand the significance of giving and sharing, especially during this festive season (and hopefully, that understanding will carry way beyond the Christmas period), and know it’s not just about presents and toys.

Leave a Reply

