Advent Adventures 2012: Snow in the Tropics

Since we are counting down to Christmas, I thought I’ll bring the kids to see the next thing closest to snow in this weather – Tanglin Mall’s annual snowfall.

I’ve been meaning to bring D for the past year or so but the thought of the aftermath plus the crowd are always a turn-off. This year with two kids in tow, I thought I should be more enthusiastic and provide superb memories for their childhood reminiscence.

And then I realized that the event was going to end the very next day. And we had caroling in the morning. Followed by lunch at home. Followed by a birthday party. But I was determined to make it this year.

We did. We missed the earlier part of the show but we did catch the snowfall.

20121204-050447.jpg

And how did the kids take to it?

D eyed the whole thing suspiciously and had a perpetual frown. I think hauling him from his nap in the car played a part. He shook his head adamantly when I asked if he wanted to play. All he asked was 2 questions – “Is it going to be long?” and “How is everyone going to clean up later?”. I asked V too but she shook her head, and continued to dip her hand into the bag of chips.

And there my plans went up in a poof.

Now I can’t wait to see how excited they’ll be when we trudge down Orchard Road to look at the lights.

Leave a Reply

