Fake Nutella

I’ve been a devourer of Nutella since my mum introduced it to me when I was young. Butter and nutella spread on a piece of bread, folded in half, to be eaten during recess. Nothing of those fanciful bento stuff that’s the rage these days but it was enough.

Ever since then, Nutella and I started on our love affair. We have moved from glass to plastic. Sometimes the affair had to be conducted in secret (that is secretly eating a spoonful(s) of it). At times it had to withstand the knowing glance of the husband as I popped yet another bottle into the supermarket trolley. These days, there are others (mostly the son) who are also vying for its affection.

But despite our decades-long relationship, when I came across a hazelnut spread recipe, I had to give it a shot, especially since I’m trying to eat a little healthier. I figured at least I’ll be cutting palm oil from the equation.

How did it turn out?

20140411-014746.jpg

Not too bad. A little runny but then again, I wouldn’t be complaining even if it was made out solely of melted chocolate. It didn’t really take that much of an effort (especially since I totally skipped roasting the hazelnuts and just bought blanched ones).

But I was still in two minds about doing it again until I was searching for the link to the recipe and came across more interesting recipes.

This one because it will change my life.
A recipe from Encyclopédie du Chocolat? This is the kind of encyclopedia that I like.
Better than the real thing?
This sounds even easier than the one I used.
And of course, the healthy version. With coconut oil.

You’ll have to excuse me now while I wipe the drool off the keyboard.

Leave a Reply

